Whitney’s Miltank (Grawr)!

Seriously.

I know that it might be random as fuck (considering that I am supposed to be writing about Buck Bumble and what-not), but, I just had one of the most intense battles with Whitney that I have ever had in my life.
Note that I had the original Gold and Silver versions when they were first released…AND I got HeartGold shortly after it hit the store shelves. I have defeated Whitney countless times over and already know of the horrors that await a Trainer once they step into the gym. Thus, I had been training very hard on my new SoulSilver game, and thought I was finally ready (actually thought I was over-powered) to take on that third gym and get my Plain Badge.

Here was my team:

1.) Croconaw lv.26
2.) Flaafy lv.19
3.) Togepi lv.20
4.) Machop lv.20
5.) Spearow lv.20
6.) Scyther lv.15
So the battle begins and she sends out her Celfairy. I take it out really easily with my Croconaw using Ice Fang, and her next Pokemon (of course) is her Miltank. One thing I had going against me was that all of my Pokemon were male except for my Spearow and my Machop. So sure enough, she did what I expected out of her, and she cast attract on my Croconaw. This was fine at first because I kept hitting her with the Ice Fang…but then, things got complicated.

I got the miltank all the way down in the red, but, the Miltank still had 1HP which allowed Whitney to use a Super Potion…now I was screwed because my Starter was no longer landing hits, so, I switched out to Flaafy. Sure enough, I tried paralyzing the damn thing, but, it used a Lum Berry to cure itself. Tried Thunder Wave again, and this time it hit…but, we had another problem. Again, this Pokemon was male, and the Miltank used attract before starting rollout. Once the rollout started, I knew that I was in trouble, so, right before my Flaafy fainted, I started spamming flash to lower the Miltank’s accuracy.
The attack only hit once because Flaafy was infatuated…but, it was better than nothing. Flaafy fainted with one more attack, and I switched to Machop.

I was hoping the fighting moves would hit Miltank really hard…and I thought that the Miltank would start using rollout again. WRONG. The damn thing starts stomping me. Every seismic toss or low kick is never executed because my Machop is left flinching, and I spent 4 super potions trying to heal it, just for it to get in one seismic toss which was met with the Miltank using “milk drink”, healing itself, and then taking out my Machop with a rollout.

So…my next move was to send out my Togepi. I was still not panicked because Whitney usually takes out a majority of my team, and I still had my Starter left…so I went at it. My Togepi had learned extrasensory…a psychic move which should prove to be pretty effective against the Miltank. While my Togepi holds his own in regular battles…I did not account for his low defense…and once he got attracted by the Miltank, it was one rollout, and he was done for.

Now I was worried. My three best Pokemon (aside from my Starter) were down and out for the count. The Miltank kept healing herself with “milk drink” and when I tried to land hits, my Pokemon were always immobilized by love. Either that or Whitney would whip out another Super Potion which was a SUPER PAIN!!! (<–heh heh. See what I did there?)

Still…I sent out my Starter hoping her could finish the Miltank off with some more Ice Fang, but I called him in while the Miltank was using rollout still and he fainted as well. I thought I was so dead! I sent out my poor little Scyther and he got lucky when the Miltank’s rollout missed. So, I started spamming “leer” to get the Miltank’s defense to go down. Luckily I had paralyzed the Miltank earlier which gave me a small break while I lowered her defense for three turns. She took me out with a rollout, and while my Spearow was out, I revived my Starter, healed him up, and then started doing what I did before. I spammed the move “leer” with my Spearow for three more turns before the bird fainted and I was down to my last Pokemon, my revived Starter…and by this time, I just wanted this battle to end.

Luckily for me, the paralysis had been working in my favor, and all it took was an Ice Fang and a single Bite to take down my opposnent. Still…that was over 30 minutes of a battle that I never want to repeat.
Unfortunately for me…I restarted my HeartGold as well and will have to tackle her again some time in the near future. But, for now, I will revel in what little gaming-glory I have, and switch back over to my White Version so I can desperately try to complete it.

*Sigh*…only 126 Pokemon left to go.

Leave a comment